PURGE DATA PF7

Contents

    Please review the ARCHIVE Wiki page before running these procedures.

    /ARCHIVING+OLD+DATA

    Go to Menus > Maintenance > Purge > ….

    1. Invoices/TRX
    This procedure has the most impact on freeing up data space. It will delete Invoices, Invoice Items, and Transactions through the specified date. Customer Invoice history, Customer Item history, and Items sold history will be deleted. Invoices with a plus or minus balance due and their associated transactions will NOT be deleted.
    You can only purge closed periods; see the Ledger menu.
    For peer to peer networks, you should purge on the “server” computer. Other workstations can be using the system, but their operations will probably slow down significantly.

    If the purging operation is interrupted by a computer crash, power loss, or a user cancel, you do not need to start all over. Just purge through the same date again, and it will pick up where it left off.
    If you use the Checkbook module you should make sure that you have no UNCLEARED checks on the bank reconciliation in the periods you will purge.
    Invoice Items are deleted first, then Invoice headers, then Transactions. If a purge is not run to completion it may cause Diagnostic errors.

    2. Boxes
    For Manifest users, this procedure will delete boxes through the SHIP DATE entered. It will not delete boxes on invoices with a balance due. Boxes can be deleted on invoices in Open Periods. There is generally no reason why a long history of boxes need to be kept. Often users will delete boxes every 3 months, and only keep a 1 to 4 month history.

    3. TRX Summary
    For General Ledger users, this procedure will delete the General Ledger Summary records for a SINGLE YEAR. Most companies should NOT delete this historical data, as it does not use a large amount of space in the data file. You may want to delete past years if PERFECT FIT was not being used for accounting.

    4. Inventory Movements
    This is no longer used for a purge, as Movements are deleted when closing Inventory periods.

    5. Purchase Orders
    For Purchase Orders users, this procedure will delete PO records through the Purchase order DATE entered, or by PO Number range. It will not delete PO’s that are not marked as COMPLETE. There is generally no reason to keep long histories. Users will often delete old PO’s when a selling season is complete.

    Updated on October 23, 2026